Our Liturgical Year

The Liturgy is the preeminent activity of the Church. In its broad sense, the Liturgy includes the whole scope of the public official service required of the faithful: the sacraments, prayers, and celebrations that connect us in a universal faith, as well as the prayers and celebrations that are particular to the distinct rites within the Catholic Church.

According to Sacrosanctum Concilium the liturgy,

“through which the work of our redemption is accomplished,” most of all in the divine sacrifice of the Eucharist, is the outstanding means whereby the faithful may express in their lives, and manifest to others, the mystery of Christ and the real nature of the true Church.

The liturgical year and the cycle of seasons and devotions that make it up guide us in forming and conforming our lives to that of Christ, and in becoming authentic witnesses to our faith.


Diocese of Arlington Liturgical Calendar

Liturgical Seasons

A time of solemn yet hopeful preparation for the coming of our Lord, Jesus Christ: both in his humble Nativity and when he comes in the fullness of glory at the end of time.

A time to celebrate the Nativity of Our Lord—Emmanuel, God-with-us!

Ordinary Time
A time to reflect on the extraordinary presence of Christ in the ordinary workings of our daily life.

A time of prayer and penance leading up to the somber commemoration of Christ’s passion and death.

The three high holy days of the liturgical year, marking Christ’s institution of the Holy Eucharist at the Last Supper, his Passion and death on the Cross, and concluding with his glorious Resurrection on Easter Sunday.

The feast of all feasts, Easter is a 50-day celebration of Christ’s victory over death.

Back to Top